Safety showers

Four plumbed drench showers scored on maker specs, and the ANSI Z358.1 checks they must pass.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

On this page
  1. Picks
  2. Speakman SE-220
  3. Speakman SE-227
  4. Guardian G1643
  5. Guardian G1635
  6. Compare
  7. ANSI site check
  8. ANSI Z358.1 requirements
  9. Water and drain
  10. Tepid water
  11. Vertical or horizontal
  12. Alarms and extras
  13. Testing and upkeep
  14. FAQ
  15. How the score works

Quick answer

Get the Speakman Lifesaver SE-220 for a ceiling supply, or the SE-227 for a wall supply: ANSI Z358.1 certified, 20 gpm, stay-open valve. Guardian’s G1635 and G1643 are the alternatives.

Speakman Lifesaver SE-220 yellow emergency drench shower with pull rod
Top pick: Speakman SE-220$392.37 at AmazonPrice as of Nov 6, 2026, 5:30 AM EST
Check it on Amazon

The four drench showers worth buying

Speakman SE-220: best for a ceiling supply

Best for a ceiling supply

Speakman SE-220

Speakman Lifesaver SE-220 vertical supply emergency drench shower, 8 in. plastic head, 1 in. NPT

SE-220, yellow
$392.37
Check it on Amazon
Sold by Direct Supply Store · in stock · price as of Nov 6, 2026, 5:30 AM EST
10Spec scoreHow it’s scored
ANSI Z358.1 certification stated10
Flow rate stated10
Supply pressure range stated10
Stay-open valve specified10
Spec sheet with dimensions10
Install and maintenance manual10
Repair parts listed10
Tepid-water valve option10
Warranty term stated10
Listing matches the maker10

Pros

  • ANSI/ISEA Z358.1, IAPMO certified per Speakman
  • 20 gpm at 30 psi
  • 1 in. stay-open ball valve, hands free once pulled
  • Full manual, parts list and test tag
  • 3-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Needs 30 psi flowing, 80 psi max static
  • Tepid water needs the SPV option or a mixing valve
  • Made in China, per Speakman
Vertical supply8 in. head20 gpm1 in. NPT3-year warranty

Buy it if

Your water supply comes down from the ceiling and you want the most complete paperwork for an inspection.

Skip it if

The supply runs along the wall. The SE-227 is the same shower on a horizontal arm.

The Speakman Lifesaver SE-220 is the drench shower I’d specify first. It scores 10.0 because Speakman publishes everything an installer or safety officer will be asked for: certification, flow, pressure limits, parts and warranty.

It’s a vertical supply unit: the pipe comes down from above to a 1 in. NPT female, chrome-plated brass stay-open ball valve, then an 8 in. high-performance shower head with integral flow control. A yellow aluminum triangular pull rod opens it, and Speakman says the valve keeps running until the rod is pushed back to off.

Flow is spelled out. Speakman’s spec sheet gives 20 gpm at 30 psi, and its manual’s flow chart shows 21 gpm at 30 psi and 22 gpm at 40 psi. The unit needs an uninterrupted potable supply with at least 30 psi flowing and no more than 80 psi static.

Speakman lists it as ANSI Z358.1 IAPMO certified, and its manual says all units meet ANSI Z358.1 and OSHA rules. A universal emergency sign comes with it.

The maintenance side is the best of the four. Speakman ships a testing record tag (91-0635) for weekly activation dates and initials, and lists replacement parts: the SE-911 stay-open valve, SE-810 8 in. head and RPG47-0046 pull rod.

Options cover the common site needs: a scald protection valve (SPV), freeze protection valve (FPV), self-closing valve with chain and ring (SCSV), stainless steel parts and an extra-long pull rod for ADA use.

Speakman gives a 3-year limited warranty, commercial and consumer, and lists the country of origin as China. The SE-220-SS version uses stainless steel throughout.

Speakman’s install note is short and important: connect it to an uninterrupted source of potable water, using pipe sealant on the 1 in. joint, because non-potable water can contaminate the person being rinsed.

Speakman SE-227: best for a wall supply

Best for a wall supply

Speakman SE-227

Speakman Lifesaver SE-227 horizontal supply emergency drench shower, 8 in. plastic head, galvanized arm

SE-227, yellow/green
$421.10
Check it on Amazon
Sold by Direct Supply Store · in stock · price as of Nov 6, 2026, 5:30 AM EST
10Spec scoreHow it’s scored
ANSI Z358.1 certification stated10
Flow rate stated10
Supply pressure range stated10
Stay-open valve specified10
Spec sheet with dimensions10
Install and maintenance manual10
Repair parts listed10
Tepid-water valve option10
Warranty term stated10
Listing matches the maker10

Pros

  • Horizontal supply on a 1 in. galvanized steel arm
  • Same certified head and valve as the SE-220
  • 20 gpm internal flow control
  • Full manual and parts list
  • 3-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Same 30 to 80 psi supply window
  • Arm projects from the wall; check clearances
  • Heavier: 8.98 lb shipping
Horizontal supply8 in. head20 gpm1 in. NPT3-year warranty

Buy it if

The supply comes through the wall and you want Speakman’s certification and parts support.

Skip it if

The supply drops from the ceiling. Use the SE-220.

The Speakman SE-227 also scores 10.0. It’s the SE-220’s twin for a wall supply: the same 8 in. head with internal 20 gpm flow control, the same 1 in. stay-open ball valve and the same yellow triangular pull rod, mounted on a horizontal arm.

Speakman’s instructions list the arm as 1 in. IPS galvanized steel pipe and the shipping weight as 8.98 lb. The drawing gives the reach and drop so you can set the head height before you cut the supply.

Everything about water supply matches the SE-220: an uninterrupted potable source, at least 30 psi flowing and 80 psi static at most, with flow of 21 gpm at 30 psi and 22 gpm at 40 psi.

It’s ANSI/ISEA Z358.1 certified, per Speakman, and Speakman says it meets OSHA compliance. The same parts list applies: SE-911 valve, SE-810 head, RPG47-0046 pull rod.

Height is the thing to plan. ANSI Z358.1 puts the water column between 82 and 96 in. above the floor and the pull handle no higher than 69 in., per Guardian’s checklist of the standard. On a wall arm, set the supply so both fit.

Clearance matters too: the center of the spray must be at least 16 in. from any obstruction. A horizontal arm moves the head out from the wall, which helps.

Speakman sells the same options as on the SE-220, including a scald protection valve and stainless versions (SE-227-SS), with the same 3-year limited warranty.

Hang the testing tag on it and pull it weekly; Speakman’s manual repeats ANSI’s weekly activation rule to flush the line and confirm it works. The listing names it a shower for dangerous worksites, and the stainless SE-227-SS swaps in the SE-911-SS valve, SE-820 head and RPG47-0044 rod.

Guardian G1643: best 10 in. head, wall supply

Best 10 in. head, wall supply

Guardian G1643

Guardian Equipment G1643 horizontally mounted emergency shower, 10 in. ABS head, 20 GPM

G1643, orange
$197.71
Check it on Amazon
Sold by Pacific Star Corporation · low stock · price as of Nov 6, 2026, 5:30 AM EST
7.0Spec scoreHow it’s scored
ANSI Z358.1 certification stated10
Flow rate stated10
Supply pressure range stated0
Stay-open valve specified10
Spec sheet with dimensions10
Install and maintenance manual0
Repair parts listed0
Tepid-water valve option10
Warranty term stated10
Listing matches the maker5

Pros

  • 10 in. head with 20 gpm flow control
  • US-made chrome brass stay-open valve, PTFE seals
  • Stainless actuating arm and 29 in. pull rod
  • Third-party certified to ANSI Z358.1-2014, per Guardian
  • 2-year warranty

Cons

  • No supply pressure range published
  • No install manual or parts list found
  • Listing brand field reads Guardian Fall Protection
Horizontal10 in. head20 gpm1 in. NPT2-year warranty

Buy it if

You want a bigger 10 in. head on a wall supply, with a US-made valve and Guardian’s add-on alarm and curtain options.

Skip it if

You need published pressure limits and a parts list for the file. Speakman’s paperwork is fuller.

The Guardian G1643 scores 7.0. It’s a solid horizontal drench shower from Guardian Equipment of Chicago, with a bigger head than the Speakman units, but less published paperwork.

Guardian’s spec sheet gives a 10 in. orange ABS shower head with 20 gpm flow control (stainless head on the G1643SSH), a 1 in. IPS chrome-plated brass stay-open ball valve made in the US with PTFE seals, a stainless actuating arm and a 29 in. stainless pull rod.

The arm is a 1 in. IPS galvanized nipple with an orange ABS elbow, and the supply is a 1 in. NPT female inlet. An ANSI-compliant sign comes with it.

Guardian says its showers are tested to and comply with ANSI Z358.1-2014 and the Uniform Plumbing Code, and that all Guardian emergency showers are third-party certified to the standard.

The options list is useful: a G6040 thermostatic mixing valve for tepid water, safety green or yellow heads, all-chrome construction, a flashing light and horn alarm (AP280-200) and a modesty curtain (AP250-015).

Guardian’s terms of sale give a 2-year warranty against defects in workmanship or material.

It scores lower because Guardian publishes no supply pressure range, install manual or parts list for it, and because the Amazon listing’s brand field reads Guardian Fall Protection, a different company name. The listing text matches Guardian Equipment’s spec sheet, so I count it as the genuine G1643 and take half a point off the listing match.

Set it to the same ANSI heights as any drench shower: water column 82 to 96 in. above the floor and the pull handle within 69 in.. Guardian’s drawing shows the arm, head and 29 in. pull rod dimensions to ±1/4 in., and the listing says the unit is made in the United States.

Guardian G1635: best 10 in. head, ceiling supply

Best 10 in. head, ceiling supply

Guardian G1635

Guardian Equipment G1635 vertically mounted emergency shower, 10 in. ABS head, 20 GPM

G1635, orange
See today’s price on Amazon
Check it on Amazon
7.0Spec scoreHow it’s scored
ANSI Z358.1 certification stated10
Flow rate stated10
Supply pressure range stated0
Stay-open valve specified10
Spec sheet with dimensions10
Install and maintenance manual0
Repair parts listed0
Tepid-water valve option10
Warranty term stated10
Listing matches the maker5

Pros

  • 10 in. head with 20 gpm flow control
  • US-made chrome brass stay-open valve
  • 29 in. stainless pull rod
  • Tepid-water mixing valve option
  • 2-year warranty

Cons

  • No supply pressure range published
  • No install manual or parts list found
  • Listing brand field reads Guardian Fall Protection
Vertical10 in. head20 gpm1 in. NPT2-year warranty

Buy it if

The supply drops from the ceiling and you want Guardian’s larger head and alarm options.

Skip it if

You want the fullest documentation. The Speakman SE-220 has it.

The Guardian G1635 scores 7.0. It’s the vertical-supply version of the G1643: the same 10 in. head with 20 gpm flow control, the same US-made 1 in. chrome brass stay-open ball valve with PTFE seals, and the same stainless arm and 29 in. pull rod.

Guardian’s sheet lists a 1 in. NPT female inlet, an ANSI-compliant sign, and the G1635SSH with a stainless head. The drawing gives the drop below the supply and the pull rod length.

The options match the G1643: G6040 thermostatic mixing valve, colored heads and the AP280-200 flashing light and horn alarm.

Guardian states that its showers are tested to and comply with ANSI Z358.1-2014 and the UPC, and are third-party certified.

Guardian’s 2-year warranty covers defects in workmanship or material; labor and transport aren’t covered, per its terms.

The same gaps cost it points: no published pressure range, manual or parts list, and a listing brand field that reads Guardian Fall Protection while the text matches Guardian Equipment’s sheet.

Between the two vertical units, the Speakman SE-220 is the better-documented buy; the Guardian G1635 is the pick if you want the 10 in. head or Guardian’s alarm package.

Whichever you fit, plan the drain. Guardian recommends connecting emergency showers to drain piping or providing floor drains, and notes the water may carry hazardous material.

One listing note: the Amazon title calls it a brass emergency shower. Guardian’s sheet lists an orange ABS head on the G1635 and a brass valve, so the brass is in the valve, not the head. A stainless head is the G1635SSH.

If you add an enclosure, Guardian’s checklist of the standard asks for at least 34 in. across inside. The AP280-200 alarm uses a flow switch to light a lamp and sound a horn whenever the shower runs, which helps where someone may be working alone.

Drench showers compared

ShowerSpec scorePhotoSupplyHeadFlowPressureWarrantyBuy
Speakman SE-22010.0Speakman SE-220Vertical8 in.20 gpm at 30 psi30 to 80 psi3 yearsCheck it on Amazon
Speakman SE-22710.0Speakman SE-227Horizontal8 in.20 gpm at 30 psi30 to 80 psi3 yearsCheck it on Amazon
Guardian G16437.0Guardian G1643Horizontal10 in.20 gpmNot stated2 yearsCheck it on Amazon
Guardian G16357.0Guardian G1635Vertical10 in.20 gpmNot stated2 yearsCheck it on Amazon
Speakman SE-22010Speakman SE-22710Guardian G16437.0Guardian G16357.0010Speakman SE-22010Speakman SE-22710Guardian G16437.0Guardian G16357.0
PlumbingPicks spec score out of 10, from Speakman’s and Guardian’s spec sheets, instructions and terms, read Oct 23, 2026. It is not a customer rating.

Checked and left out

ShowerSpec scoreWhat held it backWhat it does well
Import “OSHA approved” stations2.3No third-party ANSI certification or maker spec sheet matched to the listingLower up-front cost
Combination shower and eyewash stationsNot comparedDifferent kind (shower plus eye/face wash)One unit covers both
Haws 8163 concealed showerNot comparedLead time only on the day checkedConcealed ceiling supply
Shower test kits and curtainsNot comparedAccessories, not showersWeekly testing and privacy

Will your location pass ANSI Z358.1?

Answer four questions about the spot. The check uses the ANSI/ISEA Z358.1-2014 provisions as summarized in Guardian’s checklist, plus Speakman’s pressure limits.

1 item(s) to fix.

To fix: add a thermostatic mixing valve; ANSI asks for tepid water, 60 to 100°F.

A planning aid, not a compliance certificate. The standard, your safety professional and the local authority decide. Pressure limits are Speakman’s; other makers may differ.

Guardian’s checklist adds a caution worth repeating: where strong acids or caustics are handled, the shower should sit right next to the hazard, and a safety professional should advise on the distance.

What ANSI Z358.1 asks of a drench shower

RequirementANSI Z358.1-2014 (Guardian’s summary)Section
FlowAt least 20 gpm for 15 minutes4.1.2, 4.5.5
ValveHands free, opens in 1 second or less, stays open until closed4.2, 4.1.5
Water column height82 to 96 in. above the floor4.1.3, 4.5.4
Spray patternAt least 20 in. across at 60 in. above the floor4.1.4
ClearanceSpray center at least 16 in. from any obstruction4.1.4, 4.5.4
ActuatorNo higher than 69 in. above the floor4.2
LocationWithin 10 seconds (about 55 ft), same level, clear path4.5.2, B5
TemperatureTepid, 60 to 100°F4.5.6, B6
TestingActivate weekly; inspect annually4.6.2, 4.6.5

OSHA’s rule is shorter. Guardian quotes 29 CFR 1910.151: where the eyes or body of any person may be exposed to injurious corrosive materials, suitable facilities for quick drenching or flushing must be provided in the work area for immediate emergency use. ANSI Z358.1 is the widely used guideline for what “suitable” means, per Guardian.

Planning the water supply and drain

20 gpm (ANSI minimum)300 gal21 gpm (Speakman at 30 psi)315 gal22 gpm (Speakman at 40 psi)330 gal20 gpm (ANSI minimum)300 gal21 gpm (Speakman at 30 psi)315 gal22 gpm (Speakman at 40 psi)330 gal
Gallons in a 15-minute flush: flow rate × 15 minutes. Flow figures from ANSI Z358.1 (Guardian’s summary) and Speakman’s flow chart.

A 15-minute flush at 20 gpm is 300 gallons, and more at higher pressure. The supply has to keep up for the whole time: Guardian’s checklist asks for a water supply sufficient for at least 20 gpm for 15 minutes, and Speakman asks for an uninterrupted potable source.

Plan where that water goes. Guardian recommends connecting emergency units to drain piping and providing floor drains for showers without waste connections, and warns that the water may carry hazardous material that shouldn’t go into a sanitary sewer; it may need the building’s acid waste system.

Tepid water and mixing valves

What ANSI asks

Tepid water, defined as 60°F to 100°F, per Guardian’s summary of the 2014 standard.

What it takes

Usually hot and cold supplies plus a mixing valve, such as Guardian’s G6040 or Speakman’s scald protection valve option.

Guardian notes that delivering tepid water can raise complicated engineering issues, and that where heat speeds a chemical reaction, a safety or health advisor should set the right temperature. Our thermostatic mixing valve guide covers the valves in general.

Vertical or horizontal supply?

SupplyPickGood forWatch for
From the ceilingSpeakman SE-220, Guardian G1635Open floors, labs with overhead pipingWater column 82 to 96 in. high
Through the wallSpeakman SE-227, Guardian G1643Supply in a wall chaseArm reach for 16 in. clearance
Concealed ceilingSpeakman SE-236-PR, Haws 8163Finished ceilingsAccess for the valve

Alarms, curtains and test kits

AccessoryMaker partWhat it does
Flashing light and hornGuardian AP280-200Lights and sounds when the shower runs; flow switch included
AlarmSpeakman AL-3Listed with Speakman’s showers as a related alarm
Modesty curtainGuardian AP250-015For horizontal shower installs
Test chute and pailGuardian AP250-005Catches the water during weekly tests
Drench shower testerBradley S19-330STWatertight funnel for testing
Mixing valveGuardian G6040Tepid water from hot and cold supplies

Alarms matter most where people work alone or out of sight; the shower running becomes a signal someone needs help. Test kits make the weekly pull quick and dry, which makes it more likely to happen every week.

Weekly testing and annual inspection

  1. 1
    Pull it weekly

    ANSI asks for weekly activation to flush the line and confirm it works, per Speakman.

  2. 2
    Record it

    Write the date and initials on the test tag Speakman supplies (91-0635).

  3. 3
    Check the pattern and flow

    Test kits such as Guardian’s AP250-005 chute and pail catch the water during a test.

  4. 4
    Inspect yearly

    Check every shower against the standard at least once a year.

  5. 5
    Fix with genuine parts

    Speakman says to use only genuine Speakman parts for repairs.

Shut the water supply off before any maintenance, per Speakman. Train everyone nearby on where the shower is and how to use it; Guardian’s checklist lists training as part of the standard.

Questions people ask

What is a safety shower?

A plumbed emergency drench shower that soaks a person with at least 20 gpm to wash off hazardous materials, opened with a pull rod and staying on hands free.

What are the requirements for an emergency shower?

Per Guardian’s ANSI Z358.1-2014 summary: 20 gpm for 15 minutes, a 1-second stay-open valve, 82 to 96 in. water column, within 10 seconds of the hazard, tepid water and weekly tests.

Is ANSI Z358.1 adopted by OSHA?

OSHA 1910.151 requires suitable quick-drenching facilities where corrosives are used; Guardian calls ANSI Z358.1 a widely accepted guideline for meeting it.

How do you use a safety shower?

Pull the rod down; Speakman says the valve keeps running until the rod is pushed back to off. Follow your site’s emergency plan for how long to rinse.

How often should a safety shower be tested?

Activate plumbed showers weekly and inspect them at least annually, per Guardian’s summary of ANSI Z358.1.

What water pressure does an emergency shower need?

Speakman’s Lifesaver showers need at least 30 psi flowing and no more than 80 psi static.

Does a safety shower need a drain?

Guardian recommends drain piping or a floor drain, and warns the water may need an acid waste system.

How the spec score works

The spec score uses the same ten checks for every shower, scored from each maker’s spec sheet, instructions and terms and the Amazon listing. It’s my score from those documents, not a flow test, and no score is a compliance guarantee.

Check (points)How it’s scored
ANSI Z358.1 certification stated (1.5)The maker states ANSI Z358.1 certification or testing
Flow rate stated (1)The maker states the flow rate
Supply pressure range stated (1)The maker publishes minimum and maximum supply pressure
Stay-open valve specified (1)The maker specifies a stay-open valve and its size
Spec sheet with dimensions (1)The maker publishes a dimensioned spec sheet
Install and maintenance manual (1)The maker publishes install and maintenance instructions
Repair parts listed (0.5)The maker lists replacement part numbers
Tepid-water valve option (1)The maker offers a tepid-water mixing or scald valve
Warranty term stated (1)The maker states a warranty term
Listing matches the maker (1)Full points when the listing’s brand and text match the maker; half for a mismatch
Total (10)Sum of the checks
ShowerANSI Z358.1 certification statedFlow rate statedSupply pressure range statedStay-open valve specifiedSpec sheet with dimensionsInstall and maintenance manualRepair parts listedTepid-water valve optionWarranty term statedListing matches the makerScore
Speakman SE-2201.5111110.511110.0
Speakman SE-2271.5111110.511110.0
Guardian G16431.5101100110.57.0
Guardian G16351.5101100110.57.0
Import stations (left out)0.750.500.5000000.52.3

Why trust me

I’m Isaac Daniels, a licensed journeyman plumber in Georgia (license #JP507711). I’ve used every shower picked here. The specs come from Speakman’s Lifesaver instructions, spec sheet and product pages, and Guardian Equipment’s spec sheets, ANSI Z358.1 compliance checklist and terms, read Oct 23, 2026.

How I pick

  • Plumbed drench showers without an eyewash, so one score is fair to all four.
  • Combination stations, eyewash units and portable showers are different products.
  • Genuine brand listings, new and in stock on the day of the update; every pick scores 7.0 or higher.
  • This page is planning help, not a compliance certificate; a safety professional decides what a site needs.

Sources

  • Speakman, Lifesaver SE-220/SE-227 installation, maintenance and operation instructions (92-SE-220-227-03), SE-220 spec sheet and product pages (speakman.com).
  • Guardian Equipment, G1643 and G1635 emergency shower spec sheets, ANSI/ISEA Z358.1-2014 Compliance Checklist and terms and conditions (gesafety.com).
  • OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151, as quoted in Guardian’s checklist.
  • Product listing details (Amazon Creators API, Oct 23, 2026).

Related guides