Plumbing Picks is reader-supported. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
Quick answer from a licensed plumber: For whole-house UV on a well, the iSpring UVF55FS: a 55-watt, 12 GPM unit with a flow sensor. For no yearly lamp changes, the iSpring UVF50 LED (13.2 GPM) or the UVF20 LED for 3/4 inch lines. For UV at one drinking tap, we compare the APEC UG-UVSET-1-4-SS RO add-on, but do not link its current third-party offer. None of these claim NSF/ANSI 55 certification, Class A or B, so use them on a well that has tested acceptable; a confirmed coliform problem needs a Class A system and your health department’s advice. Filter sediment, iron and hardness first, and put UV last.
Our pick for a well that has tested acceptable: the iSpring UVF55FS whole-house UV water filter. Check the iSpring UVF55FS on Amazon
A UV unit does one job on a private well: ultraviolet light inactivates bacteria and other microorganisms in water passing through a clear chamber. It does not remove iron, hardness, sediment or chemicals, and iron, hardness and sediment are exactly what stop it working. This page compares three linked iSpring UV units and an unlinked APEC RO add-on, using the makers’ own specs, and shows what has to come before UV on a well.
Read this first: NSF/ANSI 55 Class A is the certification for UV systems meant to treat contaminated water; Class B covers only supplemental treatment of water a health agency has already found acceptable. None of the four units compared on this page claims either class in the maker pages and listings we read, so we found no NSF/ANSI 55 certification behind their UV dose. If a lab finds coliform in your well, follow your health department’s advice and have a professional specify a Class A system. The units below are an extra, maker-rated barrier for a well that has tested acceptable, not the fix for a contaminated one.
Treating iron, sulfur or sediment first? See our well water filter picks, iron filters and sediment filters.
UV Water Filters Compared
| Unit | Type | Flow (maker) | Connection | Light source and life (maker) | Water limits (maker) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iSpring UVF55FS | Whole house | 12 GPM | 1 in. MNPT | 55 W lamp, change yearly | Hardness 120 ppm, iron 0.3 ppm, UVT 70–75% |
| iSpring UVF50 | Whole house | 13.2 GPM | 1 in. FNPT | LED, 8,000+ hours | Not stated on the page |
| iSpring UVF20 | Whole house | 12 GPM | 3/4 in. MNPT | LED, up to 8,000 hours | Not stated on the page |
| APEC UG-UVSET-1-4-SS | One tap (RO add-on) | 1.0 GPM | 1/4 in. | 10 W lamp, 1 year plus | Not stated on the page |
Figures from the iSpring UVF55FS page and manual, the iSpring UVF50 and UVF20 pages, and APEC’s UG-UVSET-1-4-SS page. Each linked unit was sold by Amazon.com and in stock on October 7, 2026.
What Has to Come Before UV
- Clear water. iSpring’s manual says its UV filter is for visually clear water, not colored, cloudy or turbid, and that particles larger than 20 microns must be filtered out first, because sediment blocks UV light and can shelter contaminants.
- Low iron and hardness. The UVF55FS manual lists 0.3 ppm iron and 120 ppm (7 gpg) hardness as limits, along with turbidity under 1 NTU and manganese at 0.05 ppm; VIQUA’s VH200-F10 sheet lists the same iron and hardness limits, plus tannins under 0.1 mg/L. Minerals coat the quartz sleeve and cut the UV reaching the water, per iSpring.
- UV last. iSpring says to install the UV unit after the whole-house filtration, as the last stage.
Plumber’s note: if your well has iron, softening or iron removal goes in front of UV, or the sleeve fouls and the treatment drops off without you seeing it. See our well water softener picks.
Class A, Class B and Rated Flow
NSF/ANSI 55 sets two classes. As NSF’s Rick Andrew explained in 2015, Class A systems are meant to inactivate bacteria, viruses, Cryptosporidium and Giardia in contaminated water and must include a UV sensor and alarm; Class B systems are supplemental treatment for water a state or local health agency has already tested and deemed acceptable, are meant to reduce only non-pathogenic nuisance microorganisms, and may not make health claims. At that time the standard addressed only low-pressure mercury lamps; Andrew wrote in December 2019 that the 2019 edition added LED units. None of the iSpring or APEC pages we read claim an NSF/ANSI 55 certification; our NSF certified filter guide explains how to check a listing.
Flow ratings depend on dose. VIQUA’s VH200-F10 sheet shows one unit rated 16 gpm at the 16 mJ/cm2 public-health dose, 9 gpm at VIQUA’s 30 mJ/cm2 standard and 7 gpm at the 40 mJ/cm2 NSF/EPA dose. VIQUA rates all three at 95% UV transmittance. The iSpring pages give a single flow figure without a dose, and iSpring’s manual accepts water down to 70 to 75% UVT, so leave margin when you size.
Installing a Whole-House UV Unit
- Test first. The EPA says to test a private well every year for total coliform bacteria, nitrates, total dissolved solids and pH, using a certified lab.
- Put it last. iSpring says to install the UV unit after the whole-house filtration, with an inlet valve and an outlet valve. Plumber’s note: on a well that means after the pressure tank, the sediment filter and any iron or softening equipment.
- Plan power. Every unit here needs an outlet nearby. iSpring says not to install it outdoors, in direct sunlight or where it can freeze.
- Retest. Plumber’s note: UV treats water as it passes; it does not clean pipes that were already contaminated. Retest after installation and talk to your health department if coliform comes back.
iSpring UVF55FS Whole-House UV Water Filter
55 W mercury UV lamp in a quartz sleeve · up to 12 GPM · 1 in. MNPT · 37.5 in. 304 stainless chamber · flow sensor switch with Auto, Move and Stop modes (turns on at 0.66 GPM in Auto) · 4 to 85 psi · water limits: hardness 120 ppm, iron 0.3 ppm, UV transmittance 70% (75% elsewhere in the manual) · lamp change yearly (up to 9,000 hours) · 1-year parts warranty on registration (lamp and quartz sleeve excluded)
The UVF55FS is the conventional choice: a 55-watt UV lamp inside a quartz sleeve in a long stainless chamber, rated up to 12 GPM with 1-inch male threads. iSpring calls it a last step for a whole-house filtration system. Its ballast has a flow sensor switch: in Auto mode the lamp runs only when water is flowing, and iSpring says the sensor kicks on at 0.66 gallons per minute and recommends Auto to protect the lamp. The same manual also says the system is designed for continuous operation and that frequent switching reduces UV output and service life, and iSpring’s LED pages describe traditional lamp units as staying on continuously. Move mode keeps the lamp on all the time. Plumber’s note: on a well, ask iSpring which mode it advises before you rely on Auto.
The manual is strict about the water going in. It wants clear water, free of particles larger than 20 microns, with a sediment filter ahead of it, and lists limits of 120 ppm hardness and 0.3 ppm iron. It gives the minimum UV transmittance as 70 percent in one table and over 75 percent in another, so plan for the higher number. It also says to add a pressure regulator if pressure is over 43 psi to protect the quartz sleeve, even though it lists 85 psi as the maximum operating pressure. Change the lamp every 12 months and clean the sleeve, per iSpring.
- 12 GPM with 1 in. connections
- Flow sensor with Auto mode, per iSpring
- Long 37.5 in. stainless chamber
- Manual lists limits for hardness, iron, manganese and turbidity
- Mercury lamp to replace every 12 months
- Manual conflicts on UVT (70% vs 75%), pressure (43 vs 85 psi) and on-off cycling
- No NSF/ANSI 55 certification claimed in the iSpring documents we read
Verdict: The pick for whole-house UV on a well that has tested acceptable, once sediment, iron and hardness are under control.
iSpring UVF50 LED Whole-House UV Water Filter
LED UV module, 270 to 280 nm · up to 13.2 GPM · 1 in. FNPT · built-in flow sensor runs it only when water flows · 8,000+ hours of service life · no mercury, no warm-up · 60 W output · digital control with status and replacement reminders
The UVF50 swaps the lamp for an LED module. iSpring says it has no mercury, no warm-up time, and a built-in flow sensor that turns it on only when water runs. iSpring rates the LED for over 8,000 hours and says that at about 2 hours of use a day it can last up to 11 years. It is rated for up to 13.2 GPM with 1-inch female threads.
One caution for buyers who want a certification. NSF/ANSI 55, the UV standard, covered only low-pressure mercury lamps until its 2019 edition added a test method for LED units, according to NSF’s Rick Andrew. An LED unit can now be certified, but iSpring’s UVF50 page does not claim NSF/ANSI 55 certification. Plumber’s note: whatever you buy, retest the water for coliform after it is installed.
- No yearly lamp change; LED rated 8,000+ hours
- No mercury and no warm-up, per iSpring
- Highest rated flow here at 13.2 GPM
- Flow sensor saves the LED between draws
- No NSF/ANSI 55 claim, though the standard has covered LED units since 2019
- Same sediment and clarity needs as any UV unit
- Treatment rating stated as “up to 99%”, per iSpring
Verdict: The pick if you want whole-house UV without a yearly lamp change.
iSpring UVF20 Whole-House LED UV Water Filter
LED UV module · up to 12 GPM · 3/4 in. MNPT · automatic flow sensor · status light: blue standby, green active, red service · module rated up to 8,000 hours (8,000 to 10,000 elsewhere on the page) · no mercury, no warm-up
The UVF20 is iSpring’s LED unit for houses plumbed in 3/4 inch. iSpring rates it up to 12 GPM, says it switches on only when water flows, and gives it a front status light: blue for standby, green when it is treating and red when it needs service. Like the UVF50, it has no bulb to replace on a yearly schedule.
iSpring’s page gives the module two ratings, up to 8,000 hours in one place and 8,000 to 10,000 in another. iSpring says the unit is compatible with well water and municipal systems and claims up to 99.99 percent microorganism reduction; that is iSpring’s claim, and the page does not cite an NSF/ANSI 55 listing.
- Fits 3/4 in. plumbing without reducers
- Status light shows standby, active and service
- No mercury lamp to change yearly
- Flow sensor, per iSpring
- Two different module-life figures on iSpring’s page
- No NSF/ANSI 55 claim
- Pre-filtration still required
Verdict: The LED pick for a smaller house on 3/4 inch pipe.
APEC UG-UVSET-1-4-SS Stainless UV Sterilizer Kit
Point of use, up to 1.0 GPM · 1/4 in. ports · 10 W lamp · lamp life 1 year plus continuous · 304 stainless chamber, quartz sleeve · 35 to 104°F inlet water · 125 psi max · adds to an existing RO system
If you only want UV on the water you drink, a small UV stage on the drinking-water line is the smaller job. APEC’s kit is a stainless chamber, quartz sleeve, lamp and ballast with 1/4 inch ports, made to add to an existing reverse osmosis system or replace an old UV unit. APEC says it is for non-chlorinated water sources such as well water.
APEC rates it at 1.0 GPM maximum, with a 10-watt lamp and a lamp life of a year plus of continuous operation. It treats only the water at that tap, so showers and the rest of the house are untreated. On a well with a coliform result, none of the units here is the fix; see the Class A note at the top of this page.
- Small add-on for an existing RO system
- 1/4 in. ports match RO tubing
- Stainless chamber and quartz sleeve
- APEC names well water as a use
- One faucet only, 1.0 GPM
- Lamp life is stated for continuous operation
- Not a fix for a contaminated well
Verdict: The pick to add UV to an under-sink RO system on a well that has tested safe.
APEC remains here as an RO add-on comparison. Its October 7, 2026 offer was from a third-party seller, so we are not linking it.
#ad Buying for a shop? Amazon Business (opens in a new tab) accounts are free to create, with business-only prices and bulk quantity discounts.
I send an occasional note when a new guide goes up — repairs worth doing yourself, and the parts that actually last. No spam, no course funnel; written by a licensed Georgia plumber.
Also Considered: VIQUA VH200-F10
VIQUA’s VH200-F10 combines a UV chamber with a built-in 5-micron prefilter. VIQUA rates it 9 gpm at its standard dose and 7 gpm at the NSF/EPA dose, with a 9,000-hour lamp, a Safety-Loc lamp connector, and an audible alarm if the lamp fails. Its spec sheet lists no UV sensor, though the Amazon listing says it has one. Its sheet says its efficacy was shown in VIQUA’s internal testing and claims no NSF/ANSI 55 class. We name it for comparison and do not link it.
Before You Buy
- Get a lab test for coliform, iron, hardness and manganese before choosing UV.
- Check the class. For water with a confirmed bacteria problem, look for NSF/ANSI 55 Class A; Class B is supplemental treatment only. None of the units on this page claim either class.
- Match the flow to your house’s peak demand, with margin, because flow ratings depend on dose.
- Match the connection: 1 in. on the UVF55FS and UVF50, 3/4 in. on the UVF20.
- Lamp or LED. A mercury lamp needs a yearly change; an LED module is rated for years. NSF/ANSI 55 has covered LED units since 2019, but neither iSpring LED page claims it.
- Leave room to service it. You have to pull the lamp and sleeve out of the end of the chamber to clean or replace them.
FAQ
Does a UV filter make well water safe?
Not by itself. UV inactivates microorganisms, but only a system certified to NSF/ANSI 55 Class A is meant for contaminated water, and it does not remove chemicals, metals or sediment. iSpring’s manual says its UV filter does not remove tastes, chemicals, silt or heavy metals, and needs a pre-filter. Test the well first, treat iron, hardness and sediment, and put UV last.
What is the difference between NSF/ANSI 55 Class A and Class B?
Class A systems are meant to inactivate bacteria, viruses, Cryptosporidium and Giardia in contaminated water, and must have a UV sensor and alarm. Class B is supplemental treatment for water a health agency has already tested and deemed acceptable, meant to reduce only non-pathogenic nuisance microorganisms. That is how NSF’s Rick Andrew described the standard in 2015. None of the units on this page claim either class.
What size UV system do I need?
Size it to your peak flow, not your average. The units here are rated 12 to 13.2 GPM for whole-house use. Flow ratings depend on dose: VIQUA’s VH200-F10 sheet rates that one unit 9 gpm at VIQUA’s standard dose and 7 gpm at the 40 mJ/cm2 NSF/EPA dose, both at 95% UV transmittance, so a higher dose means less flow.
How often do I change the UV lamp?
For a mercury lamp like the iSpring UVF55FS, every 12 months, and clean the quartz sleeve regularly, per iSpring. iSpring rates the UVF50 LED for over 8,000 hours and the UVF20 for up to 8,000, and both switch on only when water flows, so iSpring says they can last years.
How often should I test my well?
The EPA says to test a private well every year for total coliform bacteria, nitrates, total dissolved solids and pH, and to use a certified lab. Your local health department may test it for free.
Why Trust Plumbing Picks
Plumbing Picks is written by a licensed Georgia journeyman plumber. Every spec here comes from the maker documents linked below, or from the Amazon listings we link; nothing comes from hands-on testing. On October 7, 2026, every linked listing was in stock and sold by Amazon.com. If you buy through a link we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nobody pays to be included here. More on who writes this and how we pick.
Sources
- iSpring: UVF55FS whole-house UV water filter, UVF55FS user manual
- iSpring: UVF50 LED UV water filter system
- iSpring: UVF20 whole-house LED UV water filter
- APEC: UG-UVSET-1-4-SS stainless UV sterilizer kit (specifications)
- VIQUA: VH200-F10, VH200-F10 / VH410-F20 spec sheet
- WC&P: NSF/ANSI 55 Class A versus Class B UV systems (Rick Andrew, NSF, 2015)
- WC&P: LED UV Systems and NSF/ANSI 55 Update (Rick Andrew, NSF, 2019)
- US EPA: Protect Your Home’s Water (private well testing)
- Amazon listings for each linked unit (linked above)
Bottom Line
Buy the iSpring UVF55FS for a conventional lamp-style whole-house unit, or the UVF50 or UVF20 LED units if you would rather not change a lamp every year. The APEC kit is compared only for a single drinking tap; its current third-party offer is not linked. Whichever you choose, test the well, fix sediment, iron and hardness first, put UV last, and retest after it is installed.
