Plumbing Picks is reader-supported. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.
Quick answer from a licensed plumber: Neither wins on the documents. On a 50-gallon, 40,000 BTU/h natural gas tank, Rheem lists a first-hour rating of 76 gallons and a UEF of 0.65. Bradford White lists 81 gallons and 0.63. Both give 6 years on the tank and parts. The real difference is how you buy and who fixes it: Bradford White says it sells only through plumbing professionals, not through stores or unauthorized websites. Rheem sells through distributors and authorized retailers, but its pages for the Professional models compared here point you to its Find a Pro page too; its heat pump page sends store shoppers to a different line, the Performance Platinum at The Home Depot. A licensed pro should do the gas and vent work either way.
Our take: want a slightly higher listed gas UEF, or would you take a store-sold Rheem heat pump (its Performance Platinum line at The Home Depot, not the Professional model compared here)? Rheem. Want a pro-installed heater whose warranty follows the house to a later owner, and you are fine hiring a plumber who stocks it? Bradford White. Otherwise treat them as equals and let the installer’s quote and parts supply decide. We link no store here: Bradford White is not sold to homeowners through stores, and the Rheem listings we read on Amazon were unavailable, low on stock or third-party.
We compare 50-gallon models on the same footing: same capacity, fuel, input, vent type and first-hour-rating basis, taken from each maker’s own spec sheet, manual and warranty. That means a gas atmospheric-vent tank, a standard electric tank and a heat pump water heater. We do not cover power vent, direct vent, tankless or commercial models, and for Rheem we use the Professional Classic line for gas and electric and the Professional Prestige ProTerra for the heat pump. If you are also weighing A. O. Smith, see our A. O. Smith vs Rheem guide. For a wider view of tank picks see our best water heater guide.
Rheem vs Bradford White: 50-Gallon Gas Tank Side by Side
| Spec | Rheem | Bradford White |
|---|---|---|
| Model compared | PROG50-40N RH62 (Professional Classic Atmospheric) | RG250T6N (RG2 Atmospheric Vent) |
| Tank size | 50 gallons nominal, 48 rated | 50 gallons nominal, 48 rated |
| Fuel and input | Natural gas, 40,000 BTU/h | Natural gas, 40,000 BTU/h |
| Vent | Atmospheric, 3- or 4-inch | Atmospheric, 3- or 4-inch |
| First-hour rating | 76 gallons | 81 gallons |
| Uniform Energy Factor | 0.65 | 0.63 |
| Recovery at 90°F rise (each maker’s own figure) | 40.4 GPH | 43 GPH (Bradford White says it is based on its rated recovery efficiency) |
| Approximate shipping weight | 165 lb | 154 lb |
| Jacket diameter | 21-1/2 in | 22 in |
| Flammable-vapor system | Guardian System and Sensor | Defender Safety System with ScreenLok flame arrestor |
| Anode | Premium grade anode rod; metal not stated on the sheet | Combination anode and hot water nipple; parts list says magnesium |
| Anode check, per the manual | Remove yearly to inspect; replace when more than 6 in of core wire shows | Inspect every 2 years; replace when necessary |
| Altitude, as each maker words it | All models certified to 5,999 ft; some to 10,000 ft (spec sheet) | Built for sea level to 2,000 ft unless the rating plate says otherwise (manual) |
| Tank and parts warranty | 6 years, 1 year if not a single-family home | 6 years, 1 year if not a single-family home |
| Where sold | Distributors and authorized retailers | Plumbing professionals only |
Both models are 50-gallon, 48-gallon-rated, 40,000 BTU/h natural gas atmospheric-vent tanks, so the rows are like for like. First-hour rating and UEF come from the DOE test in both sheets (Bradford White says its figures follow the AHRI directory). The recovery figures are not on a strictly common basis: Bradford White says its number uses its rated recovery efficiency and Rheem does not state its basis, so weigh first-hour rating over recovery. Heights are measured at different points on each sheet, so we leave them out. The altitude row is each maker’s own wording, so check the rating plate. Rheem’s product page lists 0.62 in an energy factor column for this model while its spec sheet lists 0.65 UEF; we use the sheet. These are two specific models, not brand averages: the same Rheem sheet lists a 38,000 BTU/h 50-gallon, the PROG50-38N RH60, at an 85-gallon first-hour rating and 0.64 UEF.
Electric and Heat Pump: 50-Gallon Comparison
| Spec | Rheem | Bradford White |
|---|---|---|
| Electric model compared | PROE50 T2 RH95 (tall) | RE250T6 (Upright Electric) |
| Rated capacity | 45 gallons | 45 gallons |
| Wiring and elements, as shipped | 240 V, 4500 W upper and lower, non-simultaneous | 240 V, two 4500 W elements, non-simultaneous, unless ordered otherwise |
| First-hour rating | 63 gallons | 64 gallons |
| Uniform Energy Factor | 0.93 | 0.92 |
| Recovery at 90°F rise, 4500 W | 21 GPH | 21 GPH |
| Approximate shipping weight | 121 lb | 130 lb |
| Jacket diameter | 20-1/4 in | 20 in |
| Tank and parts warranty | 6 years | 6 years |
| Heat pump model compared | PROPH50 T2 RH400-30 (30 amp model) | RE2HP5010 (AeroTherm G2, 10-year model) |
| Rated capacity | 45 gallons | 45 gallons |
| First-hour rating | 67 gallons | 65 gallons |
| Uniform Energy Factor | 3.88 | 3.89 |
| Approximate shipping weight | 203 lb | 218 lb |
| Heat pump operating air range | 37–145°F | 37–120°F (elements only outside it) |
| Room size without louvers or ducting | Larger than 700 cubic feet | At least 700 cubic feet |
| Tank and parts warranty | 10 years | 10 years (the RE2HP506 model is 6 years) |
Both electric models are 45-gallon-rated tanks with 4500 W elements wired non-simultaneous, and both makers list the same 21 GPH recovery at a 90°F rise for that wattage. For the heat pump we compare the 30 amp Rheem with the 10-year Bradford White. Rheem also sells a 15 amp 50-gallon version, but it lists a UEF of 3.75 and a first-hour rating of 52, so it is not a match. We leave heat pump recovery out because Bradford White measures it in hybrid standard mode at 67.5°F ambient and Rheem does not state its basis. Bradford White’s manual lists a 25 amp minimum recommended breaker and Rheem’s sheet a 30 amp breaker size; have an electrician size the circuit. See our gas vs electric water heater guide if you have not settled on a fuel.
Rheem Professional Classic and Prestige 50-Gallon Water Heaters
Gas PROG50-40N RH62: 40,000 BTU/h · FHR 76 · UEF 0.65 · 6-year tank and parts · Electric PROE50 T2 RH95: FHR 63 · UEF 0.93 · 6-year tank and parts · Heat pump PROPH50 T2 RH400-30: FHR 67 · UEF 3.88 · 10-year tank and parts
The gas model has what Rheem calls the Guardian System and Sensor, a protective control that disables the heater when flammable vapor builds up. Rheem also lists a low NOx burner that meets 40 ng/J, a premium grade anode rod, its EverKleen sediment device, a factory relief valve and “standard replacement parts.”
Rheem sells through wholesale distributors and authorized retailers. The product pages for the Professional models compared here point to Rheem’s Find a Pro page, and its heat pump page sends store shoppers to The Home Depot for a different line, the Performance Platinum. Its Water Heater Online Sales Policy is a rule for those resellers: Rheem water heaters may not be sold on online marketplaces, including Amazon Marketplace, unless Rheem agrees in writing. It is not a warranty term, and neither Rheem certificate we opened limits coverage by where you bought the heater. The 2013 certificate for the compared line covers the tank and parts for six years, is for the original owner only, is not transferable and does not cover labor.
- Rheem lists a UEF of 0.65 on the gas model, against 0.63 for the Bradford White
- Sold through distributors and authorized retailers, and Rheem sells a separate Performance Platinum heat pump line through The Home Depot
- Spec sheet lists standard replacement parts, and a ProtectionPlus kit turns a 6-year tank warranty into 10 years
- Electric and heat pump 50-gallon models list first-hour ratings of 63 and 67 gallons, on the same basis as the Bradford White rows
- The compared gas model lists a lower first-hour rating, 76 gallons against 81 (Rheem’s 38,000 BTU/h PROG50-38N RH60 lists 85)
- The 2013 certificate for the compared line says original owner only, not transferable, and no labor coverage
- Rheem limits online marketplace sales by its resellers, so a marketplace listing is not the normal supply route
- A claim needs the failed heater or its complete original rating label, at Rheem’s option; photocopies are not accepted
Verdict: The pick if you want a slightly higher listed UEF on the gas model, your installer’s supply house stocks Rheem parts, or you would take Rheem’s store-sold Performance Platinum heat pump instead of the Professional model compared here. Keep the receipt and the installer’s invoice.
Bradford White RG2, RE2 and AeroTherm 50-Gallon Water Heaters
Gas RG250T6N: 40,000 BTU/h · FHR 81 · UEF 0.63 · 6-year tank and parts · Electric RE250T6: FHR 64 · UEF 0.92 · 6-year tank and parts · Heat pump RE2HP5010: FHR 65 · UEF 3.89 · 10-year tank and parts
The gas model has what Bradford White calls the Defender Safety System: a ScreenLok flame arrestor, a resettable thermal switch, a sight window and a piezo igniter, per its manual. Its spec sheet also lists the ICON gas control (which it says needs no external electricity, with a note that this may vary by region), the Hydrojet sediment device and a low NOx burner under 40 ng/J. The manual says a combination sacrificial anode and hot water nipple is installed, and the parts list calls it magnesium.
Bradford White says its water heaters are sold through plumbing professionals only and are not in big box stores. Its warranty runs from installation and extends to later owners while the heater stays where it was installed. It does not reimburse repair or replacement costs, and a replacement needs the original rating plate returned. Warranty parts and claims go through a professional and the contractor’s distributor.
- Lists a first-hour rating of 81 gallons on the gas model, against 76 for the Rheem
- Warranty extends to later owners while the heater stays at its original place of installation
- Manual says the anode should be inspected every 2 years and describes a magnesium combination anode and nipple
- Publishes spec sheets, manuals, parts lists and the warranty for each series
- Sold only through plumbing professionals, so a homeowner cannot shop it at a store
- Warranty parts are available only through a professional service provider, per Bradford White
- Warranty does not reimburse repair or replacement costs and needs the original rating plate for a replacement
- Lists a lower UEF on the gas model, 0.63 against 0.65
Verdict: The pick if you will hire a plumber who already stocks it, want a warranty that follows the house to the next owner, and do not need to shop the model yourself.
I send an occasional note when a new guide goes up — repairs worth doing yourself, and the parts that actually last. No spam, no course funnel; written by a licensed Georgia plumber.
Before You Buy
- Size by first-hour rating, not tank size. First-hour rating is the hot water a full, hot tank can deliver in an hour. Compare it only between units of the same fuel and capacity, as in the tables above. Our water heater size calculator works out what your household needs.
- Ask the exact model number and warranty length. Bradford White builds the tank warranty into the model number (6 or 10), and Rheem sells a ProtectionPlus kit that stretches 6 years to 10. A quote that says only “50-gallon gas” can hide either.
- Control thermal expansion. Bradford White says never to run its heater in a closed water system without provisions for thermal expansion, and its warranty excludes installs that skip them. Rheem’s manual describes the same problem. Read our water heater expansion tank guide and plan a drain pan where a leak would do damage.
- Plan the anode and the flush. Rheem’s manual says to remove the anode yearly for inspection and replace it when more than 6 inches of core wire show. Bradford White’s says inspect it every 2 years, more often on softened water, and drain a gallon monthly to clear sediment. Both warranties exclude damage from running the heater with the anode removed. See our anode rod replacement guide, anode rod size and type guide and guide to flushing a water heater.
- Check the gas, vent and air before you choose a fuel. An atmospheric vent needs a chimney or vent system sized right for the new heater. Both manuals warn that when an existing appliance is removed or replaced, the old vent may no longer be sized to vent the appliances attached to it. Both call for an adequate supply of combustion air and a spillage check at the draft hood after the install. That work is for a qualified installer (see below).
Warranty, Registration and Where You Buy
Read the warranty before you compare price quotes. The table lists the gas tank terms in the documents we opened. The certificate packed with your heater governs, and it may be a newer version than the one we found.
| Term | Rheem (6-year gas tank) | Bradford White (6-year gas tank) |
|---|---|---|
| Standard term, gas tank in a single-family home | 6 years on the tank and 6 on parts | 6 years on the glass lined tank and 6 on parts (RG250T6N) |
| Other uses | 1 year if installed anywhere other than a single-family dwelling | 1 year on tank and parts for a 6-year model used other than in a single-family home |
| When it starts | Installation date if documented, else manufacture date plus 90 days (Rheem’s 2012 summary); the certificate and manual ask for proof of the original purchase date | Installation date, or without proof of installation, three months after manufacture |
| Who is covered | Original owner only; not transferable (certificate AP16826-1) | First buyer and any later owner while the heater stays at its original place of installation |
| Anode rod | Excludes operating with the anode rod removed | Excludes removal of the anode rod except for inspection or replacement; consumption of the anode is not covered |
| Installation conditions | Excludes failure to install to codes and “good plumbing and electrical trade practices,” or contrary to the instructions | Excludes installs that break code, lack a proper T&P relief valve, sit in a closed system with no thermal expansion provision, or go against the instructions |
| Labor and other costs | Certificate: does not cover labor, permits, removal or disposal | Will not reimburse costs of repair or replacement; excludes removal, installation and permit charges |
| To make a claim | Contact the installing plumber or Rheem Technical Service; at Rheem’s option, the failed heater with its rating label or the complete original rating label is needed, and photocopies are not accepted | Contact a professional installer or Bradford White’s warranty department; the repairing contractor files the claim through its distributor, and the original rating plate must be returned for a replacement |
| Registration | Not a stated condition in the certificate we opened; Rheem’s warranty page invites registration | Not a stated condition in the warranty; the Warranty Center offers registration and the BUILTBEST extension |
| Longer term | ProtectionPlus kit turns 6 years into 10; sold in packs of six | 10-year models (change the 6 in the model number to 10); BUILTBEST extension sold through the installer |
Our Rheem warranty document is the 6-year certificate AP16826-1 dated 11/13, plus a 2012 distributor summary. Rheem’s current manual says proof of the original purchase date is needed to get service, while the summary counts from installation, so keep the receipt and the installer’s invoice. The summary also describes first-year labor allowances, which differs from the certificate’s no-labor line, and we could not find a newer certificate for the Professional line to settle it. A 2014 Rheem certificate posted on The Home Depot’s site (AP16695-2), which names Rheem retailers as its delivery point, is original-owner only too, but adds one year of full coverage that includes labor, so labor terms depend on which line you buy. An older Rheem heat pump certificate we found (07/17) adds one year of labor, but Rheem’s current sheet lists only 10 years on tank and parts. Ask the installer what is packed with your unit.
Where You Can Buy Each One, and Who Fixes It
Bradford White is the one that changes how you shop. Its FAQ says its water heaters are sold through plumbing professionals only, and its Warranty Center says it offers products exclusively through authorized representatives and wholesale distributors for sale to qualified installers. For a do-it-yourself buyer that means Bradford White’s intended route is not to sell you a heater to install yourself or hand to a separate installer. You pick a plumber who sells and installs it (Bradford White has a contractor finder on its site), and you ask two or three pros for a quote on the exact model numbers in the tables. Third-party listings for Bradford White models do appear on Amazon, but Bradford White says other parties and websites are not authorized to sell its products, so we link none.
Rheem sells through distributors and authorized retailers, but the product pages for the three Professional models compared here point to its Find a Pro page, not a store. Its store route is a different line: Rheem’s heat pump page sends shoppers to The Home Depot for the Performance Platinum. When we checked Amazon on September 29, 2026, our searches did not turn up the Rheem gas tank we compared in stock, the 50-gallon electric was low on stock, and other Rheem tank listings were from third-party sellers. Rheem’s resale rule is aimed at its resellers, and we cannot tell from Amazon how a given seller is supplied, so we link none. Buy where you can keep a receipt and an installer will stand behind the job.
Service runs through a pro for both. Bradford White says warranty parts are available only through a professional service provider and claims go through the contractor’s distributor. Rheem’s certificate says to contact the installing plumber, and Rheem says its Parts Xpress program gives plumbers same-day access to common service parts. Ask the installer which brand their supplier stocks parts for, and see our Bradford White ICON status light codes page for reading a blinking light before you call.
Call a Pro: What the Manuals Say
Gas water heaters are licensed work. Both manuals say installation and service must be performed by a qualified installer, service agency or the gas supplier. Bradford White adds that it is recommended that the heater be installed and serviced by a plumbing professional. Both manuals give the same steps if you smell gas: do not try to light any appliance, do not touch any electrical switch, do not use any phone in your building, and call your gas supplier from a neighbor’s phone and follow its instructions. If you cannot reach the gas supplier, call the fire department. Rheem adds: do not return to your home until authorized by the gas supplier or fire department.
Three more points from the manuals. Do not store or use gasoline or other flammable vapors or liquids near the heater. Bradford White says do not use the appliance if any external part of the tank has been submerged in water, and to have a qualified service technician inspect it and replace any control parts, including the gas control. Its manual also says replacing a heater after a flammable-vapor shutdown is not covered by the warranty. Rheem says flammable vapors can ignite at the burner and put the heater into a shut-down condition that stays until a Qualified Service Technician examines it, and to turn off the manual gas shut-off valve if the heater has been through overheating, fire, flood or physical damage. Before you hire, read how to replace a water heater and what a replacement involves.
FAQ
Is Rheem or Bradford White better?
Neither wins on the documents. On a 50-gallon, 40,000 BTU/h natural gas tank, Rheem lists a first-hour rating of 76 gallons and a UEF of 0.65, and Bradford White lists 81 gallons and 0.63. Both give 6 years on the tank and parts. The real differences are how you buy it, whether the warranty transfers to a later owner and who stocks parts near you. Neither maker publishes failure rates, so we cannot rank reliability from their documents.
Can I buy a Bradford White water heater at a big box store or on Amazon?
Bradford White says no. Its FAQ says its water heaters are sold through plumbing professionals only and you will not find them in big box stores. Its Warranty Center says other parties and websites are not authorized to sell its products. Third-party Bradford White listings can appear on Amazon, and we link none.
Which warranty is better, Rheem or Bradford White?
On the standard gas model they match on length: 6 years on the tank and 6 on parts, cut to 1 year outside a single-family home. The conditions differ. Bradford White extends to later owners while the heater stays at its original place of installation. Both Rheem 6-year certificates we opened (2013 and 2014) are for the original owner only and are not transferable. The 2013 Rheem certificate and the Bradford White warranty pay no labor, while the 2014 Rheem certificate adds one year of full coverage that includes labor; all three exclude damage from running the heater with the anode rod removed. The certificate packed with your heater governs.
Do I need a professional to install a Rheem or Bradford White water heater?
Both manuals say installation and service of the gas model must be done by a qualified installer, service agency or the gas supplier. Both warranties exclude damage from an install that breaks code or the instructions. Ask your building department whether a permit and inspection apply.
How long will each one last?
Neither warranty is a lifespan. Bradford White says its heaters can last 10 years or more with professional installation and proper maintenance. We found no lifespan claim in the Rheem documents we opened. Thermal expansion control and anode checks matter more than the badge.
Why Trust Plumbing Picks
Plumbing Picks is written by a licensed Georgia journeyman plumber. Every size, rating and spec on this page comes from the manufacturer documents listed below, which we opened and read; nothing here comes from hands-on testing. We link no product on this page. Bradford White sells only through plumbing professionals, and on September 29, 2026 the Rheem listings we read on Amazon were unavailable, low on stock or from third-party sellers whose standing with Rheem we cannot see. We normally link only units sold or shipped by Amazon or the maker, and we would rather send you to a plumber than to a listing we cannot vouch for. Nobody pays to be included here. More on who writes this and how we pick.
Sources
- Bradford White: Atmospheric Vent residential gas spec sheet (1101)
- Bradford White: gas-fired water heater installation and operation manual (238-51012, rev. 08/26)
- Bradford White: limited residential water heater warranty (238-39699)
- Bradford White: Upright Electric residential spec sheet (1201)
- Bradford White: AeroTherm Series G2 heat pump spec sheet (1903)
- Bradford White: AeroTherm heat pump limited warranty (238-52892)
- Bradford White: AeroTherm G2 installation and operation manual (238-55123)
- Bradford White: FAQs (where to buy, parts, lifespan, thermal expansion)
- Bradford White: Warranty Center (claims, parts, BUILTBEST extended warranty)
- Rheem: Professional Classic Atmospheric PROG50-40N RH62 product page
- Rheem: Professional Classic Atmospheric gas spec sheet (rev. 7, 05/24)
- Rheem: residential gas (FVIR certified) use and care manual, US
- Rheem: certificate of limited warranty, residential gas or electric, 6-year tank and parts (AP16826-1, 11/13)
- Rheem: certificate of limited warranty, residential gas or electric, 6-year tank and parts, 1-year full (AP16695-2, 09/14; posted on The Home Depot site)
- Rheem: hybrid heat pump certificate of limited warranty (AP18539-1, 07/17; posted on The Home Depot site)
- Rheem: Professional Classic electric spec sheet (rev. 16, 05/24)
- Rheem: Professional Prestige ProTerra heat pump spec sheet (11/24)
- Rheem: Water Heater Online Sales Policy (effective January 1, 2022)
- Rheem: hybrid electric heat pump water heater page
- Rheem: summary of residential water heater warranty policy (WP-110, 11/12)
- Rheem: warranties page
- Rheem: Parts Xpress article
Bottom Line
Compare Rheem and Bradford White on the same model class: 50 gallons, same fuel and input, same first-hour rating basis. The numbers are close. On the matched 40,000 BTU/h gas pair, Bradford White lists the higher first-hour rating and Rheem the higher UEF; other models in each lineup change that order. What separates them is the buying path and the warranty conditions: Bradford White sells only through plumbing professionals and its warranty follows the house, while Rheem also sells some other lines through stores (the Professional models compared here go through pros too) and the 2013 Rheem certificate we found is for the original owner only. Get quotes on exact model numbers, ask for the 6-year or 10-year version, keep the receipt, and have a licensed installer do the gas, vent and setup.
